"Last night at the Wigmore Hall there was real music making from musicians who put the music first!  Rarely these days can one actually experience the depth of music where it is not all about showmanship, virtuosity or volume."
Colin Attwell, Director, Claudio Records Ltd.



The Concordia Foundation awards three prizes to promising young musicians and singers studying in the UK every year.

The winners are chosen after a rigorous auditions process and are given the opportunity to showcase their talent at a special recital at the Wigmore Hall, during which the prizes are awarded.

These prizes have been administered by the Worshipful Company of Musicians since 2010. For information please click here.

The Barthel Prize:
This prize is awarded to an individual artist or group that demonstrates excellence in their chosen discipline. It began when Mr William Barthel from Chicago heard Gillian sing at the San Francisco Opera House and personally offered to sponsor Gillian’s opera studies in Italy. He continued to follow her career closely and this prize is given annually in his honour.

The Serena Nevill Prize:
This prize is awarded to a young artist or composer who has shown exceptional promise. It is named in memory of the daughter of Concordia’s dear friends Richard and Caroline Nevill, Serena Nevill, who tragically lost her life in London at the age of 25. Her name lives on through the opportunity that this prize gives to a young musician.

The Founder’s Prize:
This prize, introduced in 2010, is reserved for a singer who shows exceptional talent. It is named after Gillian Humphreys OBE, the Founder and Artistic Director of the Concordia Foundation.

2015 Winners

The Barthel Prize:
The Ducasse Trio piano trio



The Serena Nevill Prize:
Ben-San Lau piano



The Founder’s Prize:
Bethan Langford mezzo soprano


Previous Winners

Jubilee Quartet  string quartet

Jubilee Quartet string quartet

The Barthel Prize

2014 – Jubilee Quartet string quartet
2013 – Maya Irgalina piano
2012 – Yuka Ishizuka violin
2011 – Slava Sidorenka piano
2009/10 – Ashok Klouda cello
2008 – Katy Elman percussion
2007 – Laura Mitchell soprano
2006 – Darren Raymond actor
2005 – Eliana Pretorian soprano
2004 – Simona Mihai soprano
2003 – Phuong Nguyen classical accordian
2002 – William Allenby baritone
2001 – Vadim Peaceman piano, Erika Nastro violin
2000 – Yuri Kalnits violin
1999 – Graham Sutcliffe conductor
1998 – Tan Poh Joo cello
1997 – Damian Penfold conductor
1996 – Neil Latchman tenor
1995 – Andrew Haveron violin

Elizabeth Rossiter  piano

Elizabeth Rossiter piano

The Serena Nevill Prize

2014 – James Young piano
2013 – William Vann piano
2012 – Elizabeth Rossiter piano
2011 – Charlotte Forrest piano
2010 – Joseph Middleton piano
2009 – Nicky Spence tenor
2008 – Annie Yim piano
2007 – Satoko Fukuda violin
2006 – Khac Uyen-Nguyen conductor
2005 – Lukas Jakobski bass
2004 – Anna Cashell violin
2003 – Miho Sanou piano
2002 – Sergey Rybin piano
2001 – Samantha Newbold piano
2000 – Costas Fotopolous piano
1999 – Leisha Davies soprano


Njabulo Madlala  baritone

Njabulo Madlala baritone

The Founder’s Prize

2014 – John Savournin baritone
2013 – Njabulo Madlala baritone
2012 – Anna Patalong soprano
2011 – Laura Mitchell soprano
2010 – Julia Sporsen soprano